Hope for Tomorrow

Soldiers in prayer(1)Hear my cry, O God; Give heed to my prayer. (2)From the end of the earth I call to You when my heart is faint; Lead me to the rock that is higher than I. (3)For You have been a refuge for me, A tower of strength against the enemy. (4)Let me dwell in Your tent forever; Let me take refuge in the shelter of Your wings. Psalm 61:1-4

While the whole Bible is filled with honesty, the entire book of Psalms is probably the most honest of them all. All of us can relate to David, who goes through sorrow, anger, and joy as he traverses different parts of his life. In all of it, he comes back to trust the Lord and reminds himself that God is the One who takes are of His people.

One of the most difficult things to do is stand in joy, praise, song, and hope when everything around us is falling apart. Often our joy is stolen by the circumstances. My second year in Christ, I was in such a bad situation that my countenance was continually sad. I was broken and felt like what I can only term as a wilted flower. It was as if I had been cut down and had no source of strength, even though I loved the Lord. In time, God walked me through the “valley” and I grew closer to Him. But it was not an easy time, and it was not a time for Christians to decide I was worthy only of condemnation. Yet some did. Thank the Lord for those who chose to encourage instead of condemn.

Many of our brothers and sisters are in that place right now. We only need listen to the prayer requests around us to know that circumstances in the earth are meant to destroy us. How do we stand? We stand by praise. We faith by faith. We stand by the love of our fellow Christians. When we are going through troubles, it is not the time to judge one another. It is not the time to manipulate, condemn, or demand from one another. It is time to pray, love, encourage and help back onto their feet those who have been attacked.

When the heart is in sorrow, keep in mind nothing works normally. I laughingly say that my brain cells are on vacation and they have left no one in charge. When the mind is occupied with trouble, it needs all the help it can get to function correctly. We are that help. We are the Army of the Living God. We are the bearers of His love to one another. We are the bearers of His peace to the broken. There is hope for all who love Him!

(This information was used with permission from “Whispers of Heaven” by Rosalie Storment and Faye Higbee, copyrighted 2011)

Leave a Reply

